Fit After Little Bits

eat right..work hard..play harder

Life of Late

on July 24, 2015

Hi there!

Boy has it been a bit since I was last on here. It seems like life took off in the Spring and hasnt slowed down at all! I have had a blank post open for the last 4 days and have finally made myself sit down for a second to spill my guts!

The past few months have been filled with projects, playtime, training and some super fun racing!

Trying to not be overwhelming, I will hit the highlights.

*We painted our house! Yes, the husband and I grabbed brushes and rollers and went at our 2 story house. It has been an incredible project that has transformed the look completely. Our house was PINK. I know. Who does that?! And had been for the 6 years we have lived here. Now, it is a nice, normal tannish with dark brown trim. Very house, not nails! This shows the original pink and the new tan!

DSC_0278

*I taught an online class for most of the Spring (it started just as my in-seat courses finished). I had some needy students so it took up more time than it has in the past, but it was still great.k

*Brooke is the coolest kid ever! I am not biased at all 😉 Two is a challenging, but hugely rewarding age. She is such a smarty!

DSC_0468

*I have been doing  a ton of training on the bike. Mostly 5:30 am workouts. Whoo hoo :/

*I competed in several races this Spring/Summer. The most shining were taking 2nd place at the Sunshine Hill Climb. (Top 5 was my goal so I was stoked!) and then taking 2nd overall in the Boulder Stage Race. This race was awesome and one of the most difficult things I have ever done!

The Boulder Stage Race was a 3 day race. A time trial on Friday night, a circuit race on Saturday and a 21 mile Hill Climb on Sunday. I had never raced 3 days in a row and had only done 2 days in a row twice I think!

The Time Trial went better than expected and I was able to stay within 2 minutes of the leader! The circuit race was the first time I was really confident racing in a group. My sister in law was going for the win and I was excited that I was able to help her a little bit at the end! She got it! I took 4th. The Hill Climb was pretty brutal! Long, steep for a while and then a lot of DIRT and some downhill. I caught the leader and we made the mistake of sitting up and chatting instead of pushing the pace. My sister in law caught us and that told me that we needed to go…so we did. The leader ended up passing me in the last 2 miles, but I was able to gain enough time to put me second on the day and on the podium for the overall! (All 3 days times counted toward your final time). It was a pretty big deal for me as a new racer!

Iphone photo 7-20-2015 306

Iphone photo 7-20-2015 312

*Now…we are preparing for cyclocross season. The main course of our cycling calendar. My first race is at the beginning of September, so lots of training and bike handling work before then!

On tap for this weekend….a 100K (64 ish miles) women’s Rapha group ride. 4000 feet of climbing with some awesome ladies. Cant wait!!

Leave a Reply

