Fit After Little Bits

eat right..work hard..play harder

First Race of the Season-Rhyolite

on September 15, 2015

This Sunday marked my first race of the cyclocross season. I went into the race with no expectations and no pressure. It was more about seeing where my fitness is and what I need to focus on. It was also a day to figure out timing for eating lunch, wrangling the kiddo and warming up…in 95 degree weather and a dirt bowl.

The race went better than I expected. I only got in one lap for a pre-ride because I was rushing back to check on the kiddo. It was good to see the course, but I could probably have used a bit more of a look.

The race started off pretty good as I got the hole shot (first one off the start line and into the dirt), This is kind of my fave part of every race.

Rhyolite

I felt pretty good for the beginning and then started to slow during laps 2 and 3. Boy, you forget how painful Cross is! All out for 40 minutes is BRUTAL!

IMG_7348

FullSizeRender (4)

I got passed by about 11 ladies, but was able to catch back up during lap 4 and ended up finishing the day in 8th. Pretty content with that result! The course was a lot of soft corners and slippery dusty dirt…my least favorite condition. Hoping that means good things for courses that I am more comfortable with!

The husband took a solid 6th in his race with some excellent competition. Another good day of racing 🙂

Yesterday, I did a nice recovery ride with the kiddo in the trailer and the pup. It was 8 miles of super easy pedaling….just what I needed. Today, I was up at 5 to get out the door for just under an hour of base riding. It was a teaching day for me, but the husband is dirt biking this afternoon, so my options were limited to one.

Probably another early morning workout tomorrow….with actual “work out” involved. Ooph those are rough!

Hope you are having a fantastic Tuesday…the kiddo is refusing to nap for like the 4th week in a row. Ugh.

2 responses to “First Race of the Season-Rhyolite

  1. Tina Muir says:

    Hi LeeAnn, is there an email I can contact you on? 🙂 Have something I would love to share with you!

Leave a Reply

